The Other First Blog Post

After months of planning, it finally comes down to this one moment. The day I finally write my blog. I’m excited and terrified. Part of me wants to stop at the end of this sentence, but another part of me wants to feverishly jot down the influx of ideas streaming into my mind right now before it’s too late. Who knows the next time I’ll have this much inspiration?

But I have to say, my first blog is nothing like what I expected it to be. Actually it’s pretty much the opposite, LITERALLY. For starters I’m not even typing (yet), I’m writing. For some reason ideas just seem to flow more clearly in ink on a blank foolscap. The only thing on my screen right now is an empty blog page with the words “No posts” jeering at me. But today I get my revenge…

Sorry, couldn’t resist

So what else is unusual about my first blog? Maybe the fact that it’s… 2:58AM? I always thought I’d be writing my first blog on a fine sunny morning with the Sun shining down rays of inspiration through my window. You’re probably wondering why I don’t just call it a night and wake up to that sunny morning. I don’t know really… I’ve just got a really good feeling about tonight. Maybe the Moon also has some inspiration to offer? It’s probably a chance for me to get acquainted with the night. I’m sure Robert Frost is smiling down from cloud 8 somewhere…

Last but not least (trust me) is what this first blog is about. I honestly thought my first blog post would be all about me. It sounds reasonable, I am the author so it makes sense for me to introduce myself. But then I had a thought. Why not write about something a bit more interesting? Other than about me that is…

During my ‘research’ phase of blogging, a.k.a. aimlessly surfing the internet, I came across this interesting blog post that talked about National Day of Listening, launched by an American NGO called StoryCorps. Their idea is to encourage people to talk and listen to one another, build connections, and learn things about each other that they would otherwise have never discovered.  The page gave me a great idea to interview people in a casual way to get them to open up about themselves and share their story. I thought this would be an interesting feature to add to my blog interviewing strangers, family, friends, teachers etc. It definitely seemed like interesting ‘First Blog’ material, although I had no idea who I was going to interview. I wanted it to be special, unique, different, all those things that turn a random post into something awesome. And then, serendipity struck.

Have you ever felt like God has perfectly aligned every random event in your favor? That same day I found the idea-inspiring blog post, I did. My shosho (Gĩkũyũ for grandma), who just happened to be visiting from the U.S., was leaving in a few days and I remember feeling a little sad that I had hardly spent time with her (damn those mock exams). That’s when I realized that there was no one’s life story I would have loved to hear more than hers. So with some suggestions from the blog post I found, and a few ideas of my own, I made a list of 20 questions that I wanted to ask my grandma. But nothing could prepare me for what happened next. After we spoke I felt like a completely different person. Not only was the experience more than I’d hoped for, but I knew, without a doubt, that this would be my first blog post. It had to be. So I decided to dedicate my first post to my grandma, one of my greatest sources of inspiration. Finally, I was ready to begin my assault on my empty blog page.


P.S. In case you’re wondering how the interview went, check it out on My First Blog Post!
And I guess that’s it.. My OTHER first blog post. So comment and let me know what you think! Interesting, boring, funny, “bro get a new hobby”, I’m all ears.

One thought on “The Other First Blog Post

Leave a Reply

